A Look at the 5 Stages of Grief

Grief is a necessary stage of mourning. It has a physical manifestation of a chest caving in on itself, accompanied by shortness of breath. The pain expresses itself in other ways, including crying and the need to let go of the pain.

Hospice of the Calumet Area highlights the importance of grief support and counseling in Indiana to help people deal with their pain. Studies have shown that there are five stages of grief. After these, the person can move on. Those who suffer from grief are urged to go through the different stages to understand their pain and know that there is life after whatever caused the pain.

1. Denial

The first stage is borne out of disbelief. The person does not want to believe that something happened. Whether this is news of a death or some other tragedy, the initial reaction is not to believe, but vehemently ask for proof of the opposite. The shock of the news does not help with this stage. The person is shocked and would not want to believe because he does not know or cannot imagine how to live without the deceased.

2. Anger

It can be directed toward the person or other people. This sets in when people face the reality and pain of losing someone. Sometimes, the people who grieve also feel angry at the person who has left them.

3. Bargaining

A person is trying to make a deal with God or a higher power they believe in. They dwell on the what if’s or what can be done “if only”.

4. Depression

This occurs when the pain and loss set in and the surviving individual feels its effect on his life. This phase is characterized by sleepless nights, destructive behavior, decreased appetite, and feelings of worthlessness. If a person is unable to get out of this stage, he could seriously be endangering himself and others.

5. Acceptance

This phase may take a while to get to because every person grieves in a different way. But once a person comes to term with his loss and realized that he must move on, that’s the time he starts to heal.

Scientists have studied the human psyche and tried to understand grief in terms that enable a person to get over it and move on. Wallowing in grief in the pain of loss and suffering is not healthy. If you feel stuck, don’t be afraid to ask for help.